Philip Cadoux ITP Blog

CAD For Virtual and Reality Final Project

May 06, 2021

Ring Light

CAD Video

CAD Schematic

Base Schematic

Ring Schematic

Fabrication

Fabrication took a little bit of time here, I am not 100% confident in this process. However, the prototype here looks quite nice.

First, I decided to 3D print the rings. I had to reduce the size by 50%, but overall I am happy with my decision.

The first thing I had to do was drill the holes that were printed with a 1/16 drill bit. Due to the fidelity of the 3D print, they were unusable otherwise, but this plan worked great.

Next, I laser cut the Acrylic sides. After testing some adhesives, I discovered that super glue, then silicone grout would be the most secure and water-tight. So, I taped up the acrylic to stop any visible bleed into the acrylic.

Tape

I adhered the acrylic, then mounted the sides.

Acrylic in Ring

Rings attached

Next, I used a box from the container store as the base. I secured a bolt, the circuit, and the power supply within it then mounted the lights. After that, I was all finished!!

Final Glow

Ring Front

Input Slot

Close Up

Ring 3/4


Written by Philip Cadoux, current ITP student and Creative Technologist. Follow me on Instagram