Philip Cadoux ITP Blog

CAD For Virtual and Reality Week 02

February 10, 2021

Extrusion

This is the extrusion that I chose to design

Initial Schematic

There are some oddities about this. I assumed it was in mm, but 1.8mm thickness is bizarre. I should have done the entire piece in cm, but scaling it up by a factor of 10 should fix it overall, so no biggie.

I also misread 1 measurement and the tiny notch is .5mm instead of 1mm, not a huge deal.

Works in Progress

These are my WIP pictures. I did have to restart at one point because things got shifted in a weird way that I never understood.

Additionally, there was some weirdness with the move tool. Sometimes, there was no dialogue that let me move or copy.

My best friend was the pivot tool, so I was able to copy move and rotate the edges according to the middle axis point. That said, you can only copy and move edges (not faces), so I couldn’t copy after a certain point. Is this possible to change?

WIP 01

WIP 02

WIP 03

Final Outputs

Final Output

No Dimensions

Full Image

Center

Corner


Written by Philip Cadoux, current ITP student and Creative Technologist. Follow me on Instagram