Philip Cadoux ITP Blog

Intro to Fabrication: Week 03

April 14, 2021

Cat Bowl Holder

So, this week I wanted to attempt to create a 3D geometry. I started by trying to make this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B011TZVE40/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I bought the one made of half circles, but when I looked closer, there appeared to be a bunch of very small angles and etc. that would not be able to be recreated in a laser cutter.

So, I decided to try and make a cat food holder like this: https://www.amazon.com/YHY-Ceramic-Raised-Ounces-Elevated/dp/B07S7P3MFS/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=cat+food+holder&qid=1618363960&sr=8-3

First, I looked up some dimensions and determined some basic lengths. I also added a bunch of holes and connectors for it to slide together.

AI File

Next, I got a few 12 x 12 wooden squares.

Material

I was able to upload everything to the machine and cut pretty easily. There were some issues with the actual size of the wood. It appears to be a little less than 12 x 12 and I cut off the cut a little bit. I ran it again after moving the shape, but it was somehow worse. Nevertheless I decided it was largely unnoticeable and I glued both halves together.

Cuts

Scraps

The next piece required that I glue the support beam between the two legs for the stand. I should have made it so the support was at the bottom and I would be able to use an angle clamp to hold it together. I tried a few ways to hold the piece level, but ultimately had to use hot glue.

legs and bar

And voila!

Finished Piece


Written by Philip Cadoux, current ITP student and Creative Technologist. Follow me on Instagram