Philip Cadoux ITP Blog

Intro to Fabrication: Week 05

April 28, 2021

2 Player Hook and Ring Game

For this week, I tried to make something simple. A ring toss game, which can be seen here.

These were all the materials I had on hand, so I decided to use a cork base and then a wood dowel/plank combo.

Materials

I measured everything according to the example above, and marked centers on my cork and my wood

Cork

Then I took to the drill press and used a forstner bit to make the holes. Unfortunately, they were a tad too big (even though I used the “correct” size, I probably should have used a caliper).

Drill Press

Because of this error, I had to drill the rod into the top, which ended up causing a screw to break. I cut off the excess and sanded it down to the best of my ability.

Broken Screw

After that, I got hooks, added them to the frame, then managed to break one of only 2 hook screws available at my hardware store in the right size. I eventually got smaller ones, but they just do not work as well.

Broken Screw 2

So, from here, despite the disasters so far, I added rubber feet and added everything together.

Rubber feet

Final 1

Final 2

You’ll notice excess string. Because of the size of the screws, I am unable to get the right length of rope pinned down. Because of this, I don’t want to tie the lock knots and send it home.

This whole project was a mess and I am very frustrated by it. I should have been a little more careful with the forstner bits, then everything would have slid together and been less of a challenge. I think this is fun anyways, so I will remake it from scratch over the summer!


Written by Philip Cadoux, current ITP student and Creative Technologist. Follow me on Instagram