Philip Cadoux ITP Blog

Machine Learning for the Web - Week 07

October 25, 2020

ReefFishGAN

For this week’s assignment, I decided to use Runway to create my own Image Generation model.

Using the existing StyleGAN, I wanted to generate reef fish that do not exist.

First, I found this website, which had identically sized photos of many common reef fish.

fishSite

There were benefits and weaknesses to this. The obvious benefit is that I got almost 500 images of reef fish. The downsides being I only got 1 of each species and finding more would require processing the images to be the same size as what I have already collected. Otherwise I will get artifacts generating over the black borders that runway added to these photos.

I also chose to focus on reef fish with colors. I have some silver-bodies, but mostly pretty tropical fish. I did not add bass, sharks, rays, etc. Adding them would likely mess with the body shapes too much.

To download all the images, I used a Firefox extension called DownThemAll. This exists on chrome, but doesn’t work there for me. It grabs all the images on a page and lets you download them.

downThemAll

Next, I opened runway and started a new training model.

First, I had to choose something to base the set on, though. I noticed that none of the StyleGAN2 models fit my dataset well. I also realized that my images were smaller than what StyleGAN2 usually uses, so it made the most sense to use StyleGan1 with the caterpillar dataset.

I added 5000 steps and ran the piece. Here is the training progress

At the end, I was actually really happy with some of the results. Here is some output documentation.

fishA fishB fishC


Written by Philip Cadoux, current ITP student and Creative Technologist. Follow me on Instagram