Philip Cadoux ITP Blog

Population Infinite: Assignment 2

September 30, 2020

Runway Text Model

This class has had me thinking a lot about identity in the self, but I have started to explore “identities” as they exist as microCommunities. We discussed hypeBeasts and Normcore, which is a unifying trait in an effort to abstain from individuality. But, I feel no connection to that set of people. That said, I did Tisch in undergrad and now have returned for graduate school. Tisch students do share traits, writing styles, interests, etc. It’s easy to point out a “Tisch Boi” at a party.

I thought back on my undergraduate career and reflected on what was the most unifying “TISCH” experience. I realized that we all took the same class, Writing the Essay.

So, I decided to start collecting essays from myself and others. I understand that this isn’t a portion of my online activity, per se, but I felt compelled to see if a ML model could easily emulate the fake-deepness of our Writing the Essay pieces. For the most part, it could.

First, I trained it to organize the data via paragraphs, but ended up getting some weird results, so I separated out the essays by line and trained that way.

Below are a few samples that I got from the model. Download a sample HERE.

Hello

ITP

Artist


Written by Philip Cadoux, current ITP student and Creative Technologist. Follow me on Instagram