Philip Cadoux ITP Blog

Machine Learning for the Web - Week 01

September 15, 2020

Image Classifier Photosynthesis

LIVE HERE

For this assignment, I was not sure what to do. I was struggling to get consistent readings on objects (still am, but now its ~inspired~).

However, when I was working on it, I noticed that the lights on my ceiling were registering as “spotlight.” I was able to recreate that reading with my phone flashlight.

I had some sort of working code left over from undergrad that used states to grow flowers over time. So, I used the spotlight as the sun. When the sun is out, the flowers are able to grow, otherwise they stop growing/moving in the wind.

I think its cute ^u^

I did try to add some other classifiers to the if statements, but it turns out my entire room looks like an Oscilloscope and a match, so it defeated the purpose of the pause/unpause.


Written by Philip Cadoux, current ITP student and Creative Technologist. Follow me on Instagram