Philip Cadoux ITP Blog

CAD For Virtual and Reality Week 05

March 08, 2021

Week 05

Connector Assignment

I am glad we got this assignment, it was a really simple, yet effective way to teach the joint command. I didn’t struggle here, but it was nice to get that quick practice in.

Connector Files

Assembly and Motion

The other day I found a bunch of huge logs in front of my apartment. They cut down one of the trees on my street (I think it was damaged in the storm). My friend and I brought one of the logs into my backyard and are planning on making a Hammerschlagen Table (a drinking game where you hammer nails into a log). I decided to take a quick pass at a design that we could feasibly accomplish for this summer.

The game requires a cross section of a log, but eventually the log has too many nails in it, so it needs to be replaced. I took inspiration from my Christmas Tree Stand, where it uses large bolts to bore into the bark. I found a piece on McMaster-Carr (It is definitely too thin, but this bolt is not as readily available as I thought), then fitted it into a thread, then added the spinning up and down motion to simulate the function.

(note: the top part looks crooked, but I am 100% sure it is perfectly centered, must be an illusion of the eye)

4-Bar Linkage.

I am thinking about making a linkage that is able to turn the page of a book. I thought that this would be best accomplished by a sharp hit on the page, then a pull back and up on the page to let it fall into place. I think this will 100% need to be adjusted, but here is my estimate to this movement.

4 Bar Linkage


Written by Philip Cadoux, current ITP student and Creative Technologist. Follow me on Instagram